Time Out

March 17, 2010

What would I do with more hours in a day? Here it is almost 10 p.m. and I’ve just sat down to do something not obligatory. This morning, Monet had to see the vet at 8 a.m. Dropped her home and went to the drugstore for essentials. Met Gary in the driveway as he was leaving to medical appointments and a day of tennis, errands and movie night with the guys. Came in, stashed the stuff. Changed the bed and washed laundry. Short quiet time. Worked six hours. Went to the chiropractor. Came back, changed clothes and ran out to dance class, an hour of great exercise. Made phone calls to contact volunteers for a church outreach. Ate leftovers for supper. Folded and put away laundry and emptied and refilled the dishwasher. Called Mom. Now… ahh. It’s time to shower and sleep and start over tomorrow.

But I’m blessed: behind all the activity, there’s a purpose. In the midst of my mundane, there’s meaning. Someday, time won’t be an issue and I won’t have to wonder where the hours went. I’m convinced God is preparing the stage for His Son’s arrival. Whatever I do with my time, I need to keep in mind that I’m closer than I was yesterday to the end, whether that means of my own life or of the world as I know it. Am I ready? What am I doing to help others prepare?

In the meantime, I’ll keep revamping the routine and try to keep yesterday from using up tomorrow…

One Response to “Time Out”

  1. Johanna Fenton Says:

    I like this, Jenny. I’m not sure what to add to what you wrote, so I’ll just leave it at that. Blessings today!


Leave a Reply

