October 30, 2009

sitkabay

Sitka Bay

Lately I’ve had a certain sense of urgency. Everything is feeling unsettled, temporary. Maybe it’s the unpredictable weather. The economy’s fluctuation doesn’t help. There’s an anticipation of change.

Being the Air Force brat I am, change doesn’t scare me. I have shallow roots and strong wings. I’m living in the same house now going on seven years in a row! That’s a record for me (and I hope to continue to break it with every passing year). But I sense changes coming that will pin my wings. And I want to be ready.

It won’t be long before it’s unpopular to be a Christian. Even now, those of us that believe Jesus Christ is the only way to God are branded narrow-minded and labeled as insensitive, even bigoted. Sharing one’s faith openly may soon be illegal; it already is in some countries. Many question the Christian foundations upon which our nation was built, and seem to want to tear it to shreds. What will be left when they do?

We’ve already shifted further than we think. My urgency is a reaction to complacency.  As a nation – and as Christ’s followers – I think most of us are in denial. And even if we see what’s happening, some of us – me, for instance – feel pretty helpless to try to stop it. The best I can do from here is to try to be ready to stand firm when the change comes and threats are more than verbal. I need to know what I believe and why. I need to have my destiny settled and continue to pursue the heart of God in the dailiness of my life. I want to love people better and more intentionally in Jesus’ name. It’s urgent. Can you feel it, too?

This poem puts things back into perspective. I wrote it after Gary and I made a trip to Sitka, Alaska, a few years ago to visit his son who lived there at the time.  I hope it blesses you.

Psalm 93:3-5:  The seas have lifted up, O Lord, the seas have lifted up their voice; the seas have lifted up their pounding waves. Mightier than the thunder of the great waters, mightier than the breakers of the sea, the Lord on high is mighty.

Remembering Sitka

Gray expanse, seamless sea to sky;
Only ocean overwhelms the eye.
Depths descend abysmal, unexplored;
Even there, You are the sovereign Lord!

Glaciers gleam florescent; pierce the tide,
But far below extends the other side.
Floating somehow on the wat’ry moor,
An icy warning not to be ignored.

 Yet life abounds around it and below,
Varieties which only God may know.
How delicate the balance and how frail;
To think that tiny plankton feeds a whale!

Explore, small man, the ocean – God’s great gift.
Upon its surface play and work and drift.
But keep in mind her power dwarfs beside
The Maker of her depths, her life, her tide…

Jennifer Evans   8/24/01


3 Responses to “”

  1. Robert Behan Says:

    Wonderful poetry. Thank you for sharing.


    • Hi Bob! Thanks for visiting. Hope you’ll return often. I decided to do this for a while. I’m pretty disillusioned with the publishing industry, so I’m not really working on another book.

      Love to chat sometime. How’s the art work?
      BLessings,
      Jenny

  2. Johanna Fenton Says:

    Great poem. Thanks Jenny.


Leave a Reply

